For more than 25 years, City Year alumni have been making a difference in their community, both inside and outside of the organization. From building educational equity to improving the health and well-being of others there are countless ways our alumni continue to dedicate their careers—and lives—to a cause greater than self.

Since 2005, Comcast NBCUniversal has recognized more than 55 of these City Year alumni leaders. Congratulations to this year’s five leadership award winners. (Click to share and congratulate the winners!)

Rahn Dorsey ’90, Chief of Education for the City of Boston, for transformational leadership and catalyzing change in education to maximize student potential throughout Boston.

Jade Elias ’07, ’08, Chief Program Officer for Red Hook Initiative, for her unwavering dedication to creating systemic social change for youth, their families, and their communities.

Bethiel Girma Holton ’06,’07, National Director of Student Engagement for City Year, for her deep dedication to building inclusive learning communities to support students served by City Year AmeriCorps members.


Gina Massuda Barnett ’97, Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion Unit Director at the Cook County Department of Public Health and ACHIEVE Project Leader, for her collaborative leadership and tireless advocacy in the field of public health to improve the lives of children and families

Chris Osgood ’95 Chief of Streets for the City Of Boston, for his entrepreneurial and service-minded drive to serve all residents of Boston.

Previous award-winning City Year alumni now include: a mayor; a medical director who runs a clinic serving low-income and homeless families; an immigration rights lawyer; four corporate social responsibility leaders; six community and economic development professionals; seven school principals and educators; 13 City Year staff; and 23 executive directors and nonprofit leaders, including 11 who founded their own organizations.

Share This Page