For the past 25 years, City Year alumni have been making a difference in their community, both inside and outside of the organization. Since 2005, Comcast NBCUniversal has recognized more than 50 City Year alumni leaders. This year’s leadership award winners are:

  • Dr. Hyung (Harry) Cho ’03,  Director of Quality and Patient Safety at Mount Sinai Hospital in New York, for his exceptional commitment to reducing medical cost of care and increasing quality and patient safety in New York City.
  • Jeff Lafata ’00, ’01, Founder and Executive Director of Empowering People for Inclusive Communities (EPIC) in Massachusetts, for his inspiring leadership through empowering youth and young adults with disabilities to find their voice and become active citizens in neighborhoods throughout Greater Boston.
  • Marion Mollegen McFadden ’95, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Grant Programs at the US Department of Housing and Urban Development in Washington D.C., for her tireless advocacy of people and communities with inadequate, unaffordable, or insecure housing.
  • Kate Morgan ’07, ’08, Head of Corporate Social Responsibility, North America, for SAP  in California, for her outstanding leadership in the field of corporate social responsibility and mobilizing thousands of volunteers to strengthen local communities through employee engagement.
  • Davier Rodriguez ’10, Co-Founder and Coordinator of DREAMzone at Arizona State University in Arizona, for his relentless commitment to building inclusive communities as an active citizen, student, teacher, and campus community leader to affect social change in Arizona and its diverse populations.

Previous award-winning City Year alumni now include: a mayor; a medical director who runs a clinic serving low-income and homeless families; an immigration rights lawyer; four corporate social responsibility leaders; six community and economic development professionals; seven school principals and educators; 13 City Year staff; and 23 executive directors and nonprofit leaders, including 11 who founded their own organizations.

Share This Page