City Year Jacksonville’s Moccasin Mentoring Initiative will relaunch in September. This innovative program allows Jacksonville business and community leaders to more deeply engage with City Year’s work while simultaneously showcasing their commitment to education and leadership development. This diverse group consisting of individuals of different ages, professions, and ethnic backgrounds will share one common purpose – to help advance City Year’s mission and ensure students enter 10th grade on track and on time.This initiative comprises of a year-long mentoring program to support individual City Year AmeriCorps members.

How It Works

  • This year City Year has 120  AmeriCorps members serving in Duval County Public Schools. Our goal is to match all AmeriCorps members who opt-in with a mentor from various sectors, demographics, and expertise. 
  • To assist in the matching of each mentoring pair, we are asking that both mentees and mentors complete a quick survey and return it to City Year by Wednesday, September 14, 2016.  Click Here To Fill Out Your Application!
  • Each mentor will be screened at no cost by the Duval County Public School district to allow mentors to visit their AmeriCorps mentee during service hours.
  • Each mentor-mentee pairing can connect as necessary to support the AmeriCorps members (at least 1 hour/month), including but not limited to, visiting your mentee at school,  reviewing applications and resumes, meeting over coffee, enjoying Jacksonville area events like a Jacksonville Jaguars or Armada game, or catching at show at The Florida Theatre. 
  • Mentors will receive monthly newsletters with suggested professional development topics to cover with their mentee and program updates.
  • Mentors will receive quarterly phone calls from City Year staff to check on your experience in the program. 

Want to learn more? Check out the Information Sheet or contact Laura Crosby at or 904.423.2104.

Stay up to date with City Year Jacksonville news, events, and volunteer opportunities by signing up for our newsletter.

Thank you to our mentors from 2015-2016! 

Alain Derenoncourt
Ale'ta Turner
Alex Gayda
Allishia Bauman
Altina Silva-Fenelon
Amanda Jaffares
Ann Marie Knight
Annmarie Kent-Willette
Brittany Hendrickson
Charity Tubulado
Charley Typer-Trubey
Chelle Thomas
Connie Robinson Long
Courtney Forshee
Dan Foley
Dana Kriznar
Denise Green
Erin Almond
Eva Greenfield
Faith Tubalado
Hal Houston
Imani Hope
Irene Farwell
Jamal Rittenberry
James Ellout
Jana Davidson
Jennifer Henesey
Joshua Bauman
Julie Jones
Kaitlyn Barrett
Karen Barnes
Kathy Murphy
Kathy Pandich
Katie Burke
Katrina Blakley
Kimberly Stephens
Kylie Francke
LaKeshia Jones
Marcus McCoy
Marie Hope
Marilyn Drayton
Mary Rose
Melissa Ross
Michael Stevens
Michelle McCorvey
Michelle Mitchel
Myndi Ziemann
Nathalie Such
Nyah Vanterpool
Pam Gerrish Nelson
Patricia Pelger
Penny Thompson
Philip Simmons
Rachel Deremer
Ronnie King
Rosalyn Walker
Ruby Newman
Sabeen Perwaiz
Sam Sweitzer
Sandra Myers
Sara Berry
Sara Skrzypek
Sarah Collins
Sarah Seibers
Sharon Wamble King
Shawna Gulsby
Snowden McFall
Sonya Johnson
Stefani Ramsoy
Tina Wirth
Tom Caron
Vanessa Swindel
Vernetta Borden
Veronika Gaines
Wendy Hughs